Looks Like We Need a White Banner This Year

silversteinThe recipients for the Department’s Silverstein Scholarship have been announced — letters were sent and, so far as we know, they’ve all been received by now. So we’d like to announced that this year the awards go to:

Brittany Brooks
Wesley Davidson
Anna Davis
Benjamin Flax
Aubrey Long
Sierra Loya
Caitlyn McMahan
Mark Ortiz
Khortlan Patterson
Margaret Patterson
Margaret Paul
Alexandria Rash
Meagan Reif
Nicole Stewart
Tiffany Wood

The Silverstein Scholarship, first given out 12 years ago, is given annually to our highest achieving REL majors and Judaic Studies minors. It is given out each Honors Day, with the intention that it help fund the coming school year.

And, speaking of Honors Day, we hope that all majors and minors (and families) join us on the second floor balcony of Manly Hall on Friday, April 4, 2014, starting around noon (that is, after the A&S ceremony finishes), where we’ll eat some nice food, recognize the Silverstein award winners, and also honor this year’s recipient of the award for the Outstanding Student in the Academic Study of Religion:

Jared Powell

And, as always, there’s bound to be a few surprises too, for it’s a chance to celebrate all of our students accomplishments this past year. So dress up and smile, coz we’re going to take your picture.

Congratulations to everyone!