The Ulysses V. Goodwyn award, at one time the department’s only award, was retired in 2002. The proceeds from this endowment now support student activities, such as helping to fund the Religious Studies Student Association as well as being used to assist students to attend professional meetings in the region or to make the occasional field trip.

Prior to its retirement, the Goodwyn award was given to these individuals:

1996: Dorothea M. Cook
1996: Lisa M. Hickman
1998: Christopher Michael Freeman
1998: Matthew Alexander LeGrone
1998: Alicia Marie Gregory
1999: Brannon L. Queen
2000: Ginger Brewer Berry
2000: Shane Sharp
2001: Stephanie Cusimano
2002: Jeremy Privett
2002: Clay Arnold